2019 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy Recipients Announced

2019 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy Recipients Announced

The has announced the 2019 honorees.

Announced at a ceremony making the one-hundredth anniversary of Andrew Carnegie's death, the recipients of the biennial award include Anne G. Earhart, president of the (Laguna Beach, California); , founder of the (San Rafael, California), and his wife, ; and Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis, board chair and president, respectively, of the (West Palm Beach, Florida).

The tenth cohort of Carnegie Medal recipients also includes Morton L. Mandel, board chair and CEO of the (Cleveland, Ohio); , founding director and president of the (Washington, D.C.); , founder and board chair of the (New Canaan, Connecticut); and , founder and board chair of the (Aberdeen, Scotland).

Established in 2001, the Carnegie Medal celebrates outstanding philanthropic leadership and the philanthropic values modeled by Andrew Carnegie and is awarded to philanthropists selected from among candidates nominated by twenty-two Carnegie institutions in the U.S. and Europe.

"My great-grandfather's most enduring legacy is his belief that mankind could always go onwards and upwards to achieve greater things, greater nobility, to benefit humanity," said William Thomson, honorary chair of the Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy selection committee. "It's our responsibility to plant the seeds today that will grow for the betterment of society well into the future. As Andrew Carnegie said, ‘To try to make the world in some way better than you found it is to have a noble motive in life.'"

"." Carnegie Corporation of New York Press Release 08/12/2019.